I just signed my first traditional publishing deal

The title isn’t quite true. I’ve signed trad deals in which I’ve published other authors, and ones in which I’ve signed audiobook-only deals for my novels. Then there are magazines and anthologies. But I’m really excited about this one with Seventh Seal Press because it’s the traditional multi-format novel deal, with the exceptions that:

  • It’s much more generous than the sign away all rights forever for as little as we can give you contract.
  • Seventh Seal Press is still a new imprint, but it’s already established a reputation for winning fans, critical acclaim, and of selling a lot of books.

And that last point is the killer one for me. I’m a midlist author, and I can’t afford financially or in terms of career development to sign a deal with a publisher without a track record of good sales within the genre I write in. While I’m always open to serious offers, there are two, maybe three publishers in the world that I would definitely consider signing with. Seventh Seal Press is one of them.

For more info, I’ve written it all up with pictures here 🙂

 

About Tim C. Taylor

Science fiction publisher and author of the bestselling Human Legion series. I live with my wife and young family in an English village. I am currently writing full time, when I'm not roped into building Lego.
This entry was posted in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I just signed my first traditional publishing deal

  1. J.R. Handley says:

    Congrats 🎉🍾🎊🎈

    Can’t wait to read it!!

Leave a Reply

