Time for me to show off

I’ve just tried photoing some eink devices with my iPad. The pics come out really sharply. Over the summer I’ll take some photos to show off what I can do. I’ve seen other freelance book designers do this, so about time I did. Here’s a pic of the title page for the book I’m working on now, using a Nook and a Kobo. Apple changed the rules again recently (iBooks has been a bit of a shambles) so I’m using svg for full screen images these days. I didn’t dare until recently as device support has been so patchy.

20130807-182401.jpg

About Tim C. Taylor

Science fiction publisher and author of the bestselling Human Legion series. I live with my wife and young family in an English village. I am currently writing full time, when I'm not roped into building Lego.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time for me to show off

  1. timctaylor says:

    eInk is a display technology. It’s what was used in the original Kindles, Sony Readers and so on, and still is with the models that don’t try to be tablets. eInk has very low power consumption and is very good to read outdoors in sunshine. I can take my Kindle on holiday. Read it for several hours every day indoors, outdoors and under canvas, and never once have to worry about battery charge. The same wouldn’t be true for an iPad, for instance, which doesn’t use eInk.

  2. What the heck is ‘eink’? I’ve heard the term but got no idea what it is.

Leave a Reply

