I’ve won the Liebster Blog Award

I was delighted to be given a Liebster Award by blogger TheBrontëSister. Liebster Awards are a kind of virtuous chain letter or Ponzi scheme for bloggers. The idea is you pick your five favorite sites with under 200 followers (which I do qualify for!) and give them the award. Now it’s my job to award other bloggers the Liebster, which I will do in due course.

Like any good chain letter, you need to pass on the rules which are as follows

1. Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog

2. Link back to the blogger who presented the award to you

3. Copy and paste the blog award on your blog

4. Present the Liebster Blog Award to 5 blogs of 200 followers or less who you feel deserve to be noticed (see below)

5. Let them know they have been chosen by leaving a comment at their blog.

I shall certainly be awarding my Liebsters soon, but for now, thank you to Angela, the Bronte Sister.

This is the fun side of blogging and tweeting, something I would do a lot more of if only I could spare the time.  It’s a thrill to connect up with people from so many backgrounds all over the world. Some, such as The Bronte Sister, you establish a lasting connection with, but others I bump into on Twitter or through a forum post or comment, and have a brief chat and worthwhile connection, and then never come across again. I like both of these models, which is why I sometimes follow  semi-random people on my Twitter account. Why follow only people with the same interests as yourself?

I was thinking this morning about the Liebster and all this social networking and it reminded me of a thrill I had at university where I also chatted with someone from a different background. This was shortly before the world wide web was invented. There were no such things as internet browsers; the internet certainly existed but it was essentially a NATO military system that academic networks hooked into… such as Aston University where I studied. You could chat with people. Either they were people in the UK academic network (ie your student friends) or they were US military personnel. At the time, it was massively exciting to think I could chat to someone in the USA, and probably at some secret underground military base.

Nowadays you can do that on your smartphone. When I was at Aston University in Birmingham, England, I remember at the time using a VT220 terminal in the library building to access a VAX minicomputer from which I would remotely log into the sexy Sun Sparcstation lab (the best bit there was that the Sparcs would be in use by a class but could simultaneously handle my remote login). The Sparcs would talk to a PAD hosted on another VAX cluster (Packet assembler/ disassembler). This would connect up through a satellite link to publicly visible internet nodes in the US (which were all military, I could never see US academic networks, though I guess they were there but private). Something like that, anyway. It all seemed very exciting at the time.

Now it seems easy to connect up; the interest is in the communication and not the technology, which I guess is only for the best (although as an old tech-geek I can only admit that grudgingly).

About Tim C. Taylor

Science fiction publisher and author of the bestselling Human Legion series. I live with my wife and young family in an English village. I am currently writing full time, when I'm not roped into building Lego.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve won the Liebster Blog Award

  1. From VAX to Vacs (french vacancies) your article is thoughtfull and remember me the time where my love was working on VAX (Digital Eq) and me on PAD as a SW developper. It was my first job in the 80’s. To day I publish an article on Vacs and Google search links me to you. It is the infinite power of imagination

Leave a Reply

