Formatting your print book: what else would you like to know?

A few weeks ago, I started writing up notes on print formatting so I would have a reference to work with when doing formatting work for clients. Why not add some screenshots, I thought, and post them to my blog?

That led to my series of Writing Tip posts, which will conclude in a few days with a post about using styles. That completes my original intention of sharing the notes I was making to help me format consistently well.

I’m thrilled — and a little surprised — that several people have taken the time to leave a comment saying they found this little series helpful. That got me thinking that maybe I should invest the time to develop this series a little further into a small and modestly priced eBook, and possibly print book too.

So I’m canvassing opinion. Would you be interested in an eBook or print version, and is there anything I’ve not covered that you would like me to add?

By the way, I’m not going to take down the posts on my blog. They will remain freely available indefinitely.

Thanks,

Tim

About Tim C. Taylor

Science fiction publisher and author of the bestselling Human Legion series. I live with my wife and young family in an English village. I am currently writing full time, when I'm not roped into building Lego.
This entry was posted in Writing Tips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Formatting your print book: what else would you like to know?

  1. Laura Eno says:

    I’m glad you’re leaving it up but I do think it would be helpful a a print version. I’d buy it!

    • timctaylor says:

      Thanks, Laura. I guess there’s a certain inevitability that an online guide about laying out books for Createspace will one day appear on Createspace.

      • Laura Eno says:

        I prefer to work with a printed guide laid out on my desk while I’m formatting…filled with little flags and sticky notes. It’s not the same when I have to keep jumping to another window on my computer to re-read each step. 😀

    • timctaylor says:

      Good point, Laura. I’ve spent the last twenty years with great big coding books next to my keyboard, so I know what you mean. Mass market paperback isn’t right for this.

  2. Wendy Scott says:

    loved the series — would love to see something similar on ebook formatting. Are any of the softwares (ie Sigil or iBooks Author, Calibre) useful, how do they integrate with Word, Scrivener, or other WPs?

    • timctaylor says:

      Thanks, Wendy. Yes, I think that’s a good idea. The world is thick with eBooks about ‘how to make eBooks’, but most of them are out of date on the topic you mentioned. Sigil, just to take one example, went from useless to an everyday tool for me during 2011 as it improved. Several people I respect have said good things about the most recent version of Jutoh, and I have yet to investigate where this has got up to.

Leave a Reply

