Greyhart Press – uncrablike behaviour

After playing with the crabs on Cromer beach over the Easter holiday, I confess that one of the first things I did on my return was to check the download and site stats for my epublishing venture, Greyhart Press. Checking the numbers is getting addictive and I must stop. Still, I’m not really off holiday until tomorrow, and just one peek won’t hurt…

I was worried a little because in the first (quiet) couple of weeks of Greyhart Press’ existence, readers were downloading books only within the first 48 hours of their publication on Smashwords, because the default Smashwords view is most recent publication first. Given the rate Smashwords publish books, after 48 hours or so, my books would be lost under a mountain of newer publications; the only way anyone would find a Greyhart Press title was to search specifically for it. So I though the second two weeks of existence would see a slowing of downloads.

However, unlike the Cromer crabs, Greyhart seems to be moving slowly forwards <groan> .

In the past 12 days we’ve had 450 downloads and over 1000 visits to the brand new website www.greyhartpress.com Still a long way from making money out of this but I’m pleased with this start and next week will busy myself with the story pipeline from which some cracking new reads are straining to emerge.

Oh, and today I arrived on iTunes (here and here):

Tim

About Tim C. Taylor

Science fiction publisher and author of the bestselling Human Legion series. I live with my wife and young family in an English village. I am currently writing full time, when I'm not roped into building Lego.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Greyhart Press – uncrablike behaviour

  1. Phillip says:

    Tangentally reminds me of a series of books I read as a teenage “The Killer Crabs” by a chap called Guy N Smith. A whole series of James Herbert “Rats” ripoffs set amongst the Cromer and Norfolk marshes where mutant big crabs come ashore to terrorise the populace. Only read them because they were cheap at car boot sales. Dire.

    Glad to hear the publishing business is taking off !

Leave a Reply

