Competition: Spot the silly references in the star map

This morning I did a ‘spot the 10 things wrong with this picture’ with my little boy. We found this on the back page of the latest LEGO Jr. Magazine. To my surprise, we managed to spot them all, something we’ve never achieved before (despite the magazine being aimed at children aged 4-7).

I did a star map as part of some cover art this morning, and couldn’t resist putting in a few deliberately ‘wrong’ names myself. Mostly these are Sci Fi TV and book references, though not all. I challenge anyone to spot all of them. I’ll even offer a free book (once it’s published) for the first one right, but really this is for the geekiness of playing.

Tell you what, I’ll get you started with ‘Bass’ as that one is obscured by the path of Thogron’s ship. There is one more beer reference, which might handicap anyone who doesn’t realise that Burton-on-Trent is the spiritual home of good beer. Oh, did I just give away some clues?

Eight more to go.

‘Sol’ isn’t a wrong name, by the way; it’s part of the story.

You should be able to click on the image and zoom into the names.

Tim

About Tim C. Taylor

Science fiction publisher and author of the bestselling Human Legion series. I live with my wife and young family in an English village. I am currently writing full time, when I'm not roped into building Lego.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Competition: Spot the silly references in the star map

  1. Phillip hamlyn says:

    Oh blimey, autospell is dreadful. What I meant to say was blakes 7 was purest cheese.

  2. Phillip hamlyn says:

    Oh,. I disagree, blames 7 was purest cheese !

  3. Phillip says:

    Hmm,

    Balmer Beta ; the fact that Microsoft keep releasing software thats in Beta stage masquerading as “Finished” ?

    Zirthum Burtonis ; Burton-on-trent.

    RastaMouse; possibly an eighties cartoon ?

    Guada Prime; possibly the fact that all dishes with cheese on top are called “Supreme” therefore Garlic Bread Supreme is simply garlic bread with cheese. Guada Prime could loosly be related. Bit left-field that suggestion …

    Yod Posterior – Gods Arse ?

    Wishupon a Star ?

    Buffy clearly is a star.

    • timctaylor says:

      Hi Phillip,
      Good attempt! You got ‘Burton Beer’ in pig-Latin. And wishupona-Buffy
      Rastamouse – this is a cartoon very much alive. Catch it on BBC iPlayer. Best new animation for years.
      Yed Posterior – sorry, that one’s real. (The ‘e’ character doesn’t always show in the font I used), Proper name is Epsilon Ophiuchi.

      Gauda Prime — let’s just say it’s nothing to do with cheese.
      Tim

Leave a Reply

